Higher Education: Handbook of Theory and Research

Description

Published annually since 1985, the Handbook series provides a compendium of thorough and integrative literature reviews on a diverse array of topics of interest to the higher education scholarly and policy communities. Each chapter provides a comprehensive review of research findings on a selected topic, critiques the research literature in terms of its conceptual and methodological rigor, and sets forth an agenda for future research intended to advance knowledge on the chosen topic. The Handbook focuses on a comprehensive set of central areas of study in higher education that encompasses the salient dimensions of scholarly and policy inquiries undertaken in the international higher education community. Each annual volume contains chapters on such diverse topics as research on college students and faculty, organization and administration, curriculum and instruction, policy, diversity issues, economics and finance, history and philosophy, community colleges, advances in research methodology, and more. The series is fortunate to have attracted annual contributions from distinguished scholars throughout the world. - Authoritative in the field of higher education - Provides state-of-the-art reviews on a wide range of topics in the study of higher education - Attracts annual contributions from distinguished scholars around the world - Chapters are frequently cited in major higher education journals - An indispensable resource for administrators, researchers and policymakers in higher education The Series Editor: Michael B. Paulsen, Ph.D., Department of Educational Policy and Leadership Studies, N491 Lindquist Center North, The University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA 52242-1529 USA, michael-paulsen@uiowa.edu The Associate Editors: John M. Braxton, Ph.D., Department of Leadership, Policy & Organization, Payne Hall, Peabody #514, 230 Appleton Place, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN 37203-5721, USA, john.m.braxton@vanderbilt.edu (College Faculty) Stephen L. DesJardins, Ph.D., School of Education, #2108D SEB, 610 E. University Avenue, The University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1259, USA, sdesj@umich.edu (Research Methodology) Linda Eisenmann, Ph.D., Office of the Provost, Wheaton College, 26 E. Main Street, Norton, MA 02766, USA, eisenmann_linda@wheatoncollege.edu (History and Philosophy) Linda Serra Hagedorn, Ph.D., Department of Educational Leadership Studies, Iowa State University, N243 Lagomarcino Hall, Ames, IA 50011, USA, lindah@iastate.edu (Community Colleges) Sylvia Hurtado, Ph.D., Higher Education Research Institute, 3005 Moore Hall, Box 951521, University of California, Los Angeles, CA 90095, USA, shurtado@gseis.ucla.edu (Diversity Issues) Adrianna Kezar, Ph.D., Rossier School of Education, 3470 Trousdale Parkway, WPH 701, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA 90089, USA, kezar@usc.edu (Organization and Administration) Laura W. Perna, Ph.D., Graduate School of Education, University of Pennsylvania, 3700 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104, USA, lperna@gse.upenn.edu (Policy) Raymond D. Perry, Ph.D., Department of Psychology, 404 Duff Roblin Building, The University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada R3T 2N2, rperry@cc.umanitoba.ca (Curriculum and Instruction) Scott L. Thomas, Ph.D., School of Educational Studies, Claremont Graduate University, 150 E. Tenth Street, Claremont, CA 91711, USA, scott.thomas@cgu.edu (College Students) Marvin A. Titus, Ph.D., Department of Counseling, Higher Education & Special Education Benjamin Bldg., 2200, University of Maryland, College Park, MD 20742, USA, mtitus@umd.edu (Finance and Economics)