Academic Psychiatry

, Volume 31, Issue 2, pp 146–151

Educating, Training, and Mentoring Minority Faculty and Other Trainees in Mental Health Services Research

  • Joel Yager
  • Howard Waitzkin
  • Tassy Parker
  • Bonnie Duran
Research Development Courses Original Article

DOI: 10.1176/appi.ap.31.2.146

Cite this article as:
Yager, J., Waitzkin, H., Parker, T. et al. Acad Psychiatry (2007) 31: 146. doi:10.1176/appi.ap.31.2.146



The authors describe the evolution of a novel national training program to develop minority faculty for mental health services research careers. Recruiting, training, and sustaining minority health professionals for academic research careers in mental health services research have proven challenging.


Over the past 8 years the authors developed NIMH-funded programs to educate, train, and mentor minority psychiatrists and other junior faculty and graduate and post-graduate students. Their areas of academic interest focus primarily on minority mental health issues in primary care and community settings.


The authors began with a program that targeted local trainees from the University of New Mexico and expanded to regional and national programs offering weeklong institutes, on-site and distance mentoring by experts, and supportive peer interactions that addressed the considerable challenges affecting trainee career decisions and paths.


Early outcomes support the value of these programs.

Copyright information

© Academic Psychiatry 2007

Authors and Affiliations

  • Joel Yager
    • 1
  • Howard Waitzkin
    • 2
  • Tassy Parker
    • 3
    • 4
  • Bonnie Duran
    • 5
  1. 1.Department of PsychiatryUniversity of New MexicoAlbuquerqueUSA
  2. 2.Departments of Sociology, Family and Community Medicine and Internal MedicineUniversity of New MexicoAlbuquerqueUSA
  3. 3.Department of Family and Community MedicineTucsonUSA
  4. 4.Mental and Behavioral Health Center for Native American HealthUniversity of New MexicoAlbuquerqueUSA
  5. 5.Department of Health Services, School of Public Health and Community MedicineUniversity of WashingtonSeattleUSA
  6. 6.Department of PsychiatryUniversity of New Mexico School of MedicineAlbuquerqueUSA

Personalised recommendations