, Volume 5, Issue 9-10, pp 696-708
Date: 04 Nov 2010

Synthesis of biocompatible surfaces by nanotechnology methods

Rent the article at a discount

Rent now

* Final gross prices may vary according to local VAT.

Get Access


The modification of the surface of low-density polyethylene (LDPE) and polyurethane (PU) by means of the pulsed ion-plasma deposition of nanostructural carbon coatings at 20–60°C has been studied. The effect of this low-temperature treatment on the biocompatibility of the LDPE and PU has been assessed. Optimum technological parameters for the formation of mosaic carbon nanostructures with a thickness of 0.3–15 nm and a cluster lateral size of 10–500 nm are determined. These structures give the polymer surface increased hemocompatible properties. The surface of samples was studied by methods of scanning electron microscopy, scanning probe microscopy, and Raman spectroscopy. The effect of the UV light of a krypton lamp (λ = 123.6 nm) and white synchrotron radiation on the surface of poly(methyl methacrylate) (PMMA) preliminarily treated in an oxygen-containing RF discharge plasma has been investigated by varying the duration of exposure (from several minutes to several dozen minutes) and the residual gas pressure (2 and 100 Pa). This processing ensures the smoothing of the surface relief on micro- and nanoscale levels, which can improve the biocompatibility of the modified PMMA film surface. The principles of a two-stage technology for rendering the titanium (implant) surface biocompatible are developed. This technology consists of the chemical pretreatment of the surface for creating a microrelief (2–3 μm roughness), followed by the deposition of a titanium oxide film with controlled composition (TiO2) and thickness (10–60 nm). The influence of the mechanisms and technological parameters of the oxide film deposition on its composition, structure, uniformity (conformal coating of involved shapes), and biocompatibility of the modified surface have been studied.

Original Russian Text © A.P. Alekhin, G.M. Boleiko, S.A. Gudkova, A.M. Markeev, A.A. Sigarev, V.F. Toknova, A.G. Kirilenko, R.V. Lapshin, E.N. Kozlov, D.V. Tetyukhin, 2010, published in Rossiiskie nanotekhnologii, 2010, Vol. 5, Nos. 9–10.