, Volume 6, Issue 1, pp 57-68
Date: 31 Mar 2012

3D mode discrete element method with the elastoplastic model

Rent the article at a discount

Rent now

* Final gross prices may vary according to local VAT.

Get Access


The three-dimensional mode-deformable discrete element method (3MDEM) is an extended distinct element approach under the assumptions of small strain, finite displacement, and finite rotation of blocks. The deformation of blocks is expressed by the combination of the deformation modes in 3MDEM. In this paper, the elastoplastic constitutive relationship of blocks is implemented on the 3MDEM platform to simulate the integrated process from elasticity to plasticity and finally to fracture. To overcome the shortcomings of the conventional criterion for contact fracturing, a new criterion based on plastic strain is introduced. This approach is verified by two numerical examples. Finally, a cantilever beam is simulated as a comprehensive case study, which went through elastic, elastoplastic, and discontinuous fracture stages.

Feng Jin is a Professor and the chair of the Department of Hydraulic Engineering, Tsinghua University, was born in September 1966 in Zunyi, Guizhou Province, China. He graduated from Tsinghua University majoring in Hydraulic Structures and Solid Mechanics in 1987 and completed the Ph.D. degree in Hydraulic Structures in 1992. As a visiting scientist, he conducted research at the Concordia University, Canada in 1996. He is the Executive editor in chief of the journal Frontiers of Structural and Civil Engineering, and also the member of editorial board of the Chinese journal Advances in Science and Technology of Water Resources, Engineering Mechanics, Journal of Hydraulic Engineering, and Water Resources and Power. He is engaged in research on seismic analysis of dams and materials of Rock-Fill Concrete. He has published more than 200 papers and three books, including Tsinghua University Treatise: Discrete-Contact-Fracture Analysis of Rock and Concrete. He received 10 prizes including the National Natural Science Prize, State Science and Technology Progress Prize, etc.