, Volume 27, Issue 2, pp 117-124
Date: 14 Jun 2006

Toni Morrison's Beloved: A Journey through the Pain of Grief

Rent the article at a discount

Rent now

* Final gross prices may vary according to local VAT.

Get Access


This paper elucidates the structure of Toni Morrison’s novel, Beloved, using the framework of human emotions in response to grieving and death as developed by Elisabeth Kubler-Ross. Through her studies of terminally ill patients, Kubler-Ross identified five stages when approaching death: denial and isolation, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance. These stages accurately fill the process that the character Sethe experiences in the novel as she learns to accept her daughter’s death.