Review Article

Journal of Fusion Energy

, Volume 30, Issue 3, pp 207-237

First online:

Open Access This content is freely available online to anyone, anywhere at any time.

AEC Policy and Action Paper on Controlled Thermonuclear Research

  • Amasa S. BishopAffiliated withU.S. Atomic Energy Commission
  • , Stephen O. DeanAffiliated withU.S. Atomic Energy CommissionFusion Power Associates Email author 
  • , Richard F. PostAffiliated withLawrence Radiation Laboratory


This report was prepared in late 1965 at the request of the U.S. House-Senate Joint Committee on Atomic Energy (JCAE) to review its program on controlled thermonuclear research (CTR), now called just “fusion energy research.” It was transmitted to them on June 11, 1966 by then chairman of the U.S. Atomic Energy Commission (AEC) Glenn T. Seaborg. The AEC is the predecessor agency of the current U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). The report has previously only been available as AEC report TID-23277. This version of the report is complete except for the omission of lengthy discussions of the then current fusion research activities at various AEC sites. This paper includes, as does the original report, a copy of Seaborg’s June 11, 1966 transmittal letter and, as appendices, copies of a 1962 review of the fusion program by the AEC’s General Advisory Committee (GAC), a review of the Policy Paper by a special 1965 AEC committee, prior to its submittal to the JCAE, comments on the report by the GAC and the President’s Science Advisory Committee, and the charter for then newly established CTR Standing Committee.


Fusion Fusion energy Controlled thermonuclear research U.S. Atomic Energy Commission