, Volume 27, Issue 2 Supplement, pp S2-S8

Drug resistance among clinical isolates of frequently encountered bacterial species in central Europe during 1975–1995

Rent the article at a discount

Rent now

* Final gross prices may vary according to local VAT.

Get Access


A multicenter study for monitoring antimicrobial drug resistance in clinical isolates of the familyEnterobacteriaceae, Pseudomonas aeruginosa, Staphylococcus andEnterococcus species in central Europa conducted by the Study Group Bacterial Resistance of the Paul-Ehrlich-Society for Chemotherapy has been ongoing since 1975. Between 1975 and 1995 susceptibility data on almost 60,000 bacteria, which were isolated and sampled under a common protocol by laboratories from Austria, Germany and Switzerland, were collected. These bacterial isolates were known by the respective investigators to have caused infections. From 1975 to the mid-80s none of the bacterial species examined showed an increase in resistance. The frequency of resistance in klebsiellae andStaphylococcus aureus to some antibiotics even declined. In 1990 and particularly in 1995, a clear increase in resistance for a number of antibiotic-organism pairs was observed. Resistance rates of fluoroquinolones increased in all species under investigation. InEscherichia coli the increase of resistance to ampicillin, co-trimoxazole and gentamicin was remarkable. Resistance to imipenem increased inP. aeruginosa. Resistance to cephalosporins, on the other hand, remained largely unchanged in gram-negative bacilli. Between 1990 and 1995, the prevalence of oxacillin resistance increased from 1.7 to 12.9% inS. aureus and from 15.8 to 55.8% in coagulase-negative staphylococci, whereas staphylococcal and enterococcal resistance to glycopeptides was still rare.

Study Group Bacterial Resistance of the Paul-Ehrlich-Society for Chemotherapy (participating centers in 1995): R. Lütticken (Universitätsklinikum Aachen); I. Heinzer (Kantonsspital Aarau); R. Frei (Kantonsspital Basel); E. Halle (Universitätsklinikum Charité Berlin); H. Langmaack (Krankenhaus Berlin-Moabit); J. Wagner (Universitätsklinikum Benjamin Franklin Berlin); C. Breer, J. Looney (Universitätsklinikum Bern); B. Wiedemann (Universitätsklinikum Bonn); U. Warweg (Thüringer Medizinal-, Lebensmittel- und Veterinäruntersuchungsamt Erfurt); G. Breitfellner (Landeskrankenhaus Feldkirch); V. Brade, V. Schäfer (Universitätsklinikum Frankfurt): H. Krüpe (Städtisches Klinikum Fulda); R. Auckenthaler, B. Peppey, P. Rohner (Hopital Cantonal Universitaire Genève); M.-E. Höpken (Niedersächsisches Landesgesundheitsamt Hannover); F. Allerberger (Bundesstaatl. Bakteriolog.-Serolog. Untersuchungsanstalt Innsbruck); W. Pfister, E. Straube (Universitätsklinikum Jena); R. Ringelmann (Städtisches Klinikum Karlsruhe); U. Ullmann (Universitätsklinikum Kiel); R. Gross, G. Peters (Universitätsklinikum Münster); J. Breer, A. C. Rodloff (Universitätsklinikum Leipzig); C. Jebelean, H. Mittermayer (Krankenhaus der Elisabethinnen Linz); H. P. Marder, J. Munzinger (Kantonsspital Luzern); T. Krause, W. Mannheim, R. Mutters (Universitätsklinikum Marburg); K. Fabricius (Städtisches Klinikum Offenbach); H. Schmidt, M. Wolter (Universitätsklinikum Rostock); H. H. Siegrist (Institut neuchatelois de microbiologie La Chaux-de-Fonds); H. P. Rohr (Institut für Gesundheit und Umwelt Saarbrücken); P. Ehring, H. Werner (Universitätsklinikum Tübingen); R. Marre (Universitätsklinikum Ulm); M. Rotter (Universitätsklinikum Wien); G. Wewalka (Bundesstaatl. Bakteriolog. Serolog. Untersuchungsamt Wien); H. Grimm (Labor Dr. Gärtner Weingarten); F. H. Kayser (Universitätsklinikum Zürich).